So afraid of commenting on discussions, you have to make a blog in order to say anything

i made this
As a “blogger” with maybe 1 person visiting for every 2 posts that I make, I’ve noticed that blogging is an innately lonely hobby. I mean, unless your blog is about going out and partying everyday – then, of course – maybe not so lonely.

But I think the actual act of “typing some stuff out about your day” is a solitary activity. You’re sitting there, maybe with a plan, maybe without – taking your fingertips for a stroll down memory lane, racking your mind for something interesting to say; something witty, something smart. Something that’s going to keep your readers coming back for more, and something that you can point to in everyday conversation.

‘I have my own blog.’ You don’t say anything else. You let their imagination fill in the empty spaces.

They’ll prod you, if they’re anything like your everyday conversationalist. They’ll challenge you. ‘Oh, yeah? Cool. What’s it called?’

Ah, time to show off your amazing naming skills. ‘It’s called “I love myself when I’m angry,” and the URL is “teamleaderleo.wordpress.com.”‘

‘Ah, wordpress?’ They say, with an ambiguous raise of the eyebrow.

You nod, because you’re afraid that they’ll mince your words. WordPress is a good website, right? Did something in their expression change? You bite your tongue, hoping that they’re clueless about “blogging.”

‘What do you post on there?’

Gulp. ‘Uhh, a bit of everything. It’s a mix!’

‘You know, I’ve heard that a lot of self-proclaimed “bloggers” quit after the first few months.’

‘What can I say? I’m a trooper.’

‘How long have you been doing it?’

‘…A few months.’

‘Oh yeah?’ They scoff. ‘How many visitors do you get?’

‘Oh, uh.’ You shrug your shoulders and smile. ‘I dunno!’ You continue smiling, hoping they’ll change the topic. You know they won’t, but you keep holding onto that flicker of hope.

They reciprocate your smile, and for a second, you can almost see the light.

‘Nobody reads your blog, right?’ And… poof! There goes the light.

If you’re anything like me, though, you probably weren’t going to tell anyone that you blog. The whole point of this is just to vent. There’s no predefined structure; no meticulously-planned out goal. It’s just… write. As often as you can, or as I always like to say, “as often as you want.”

I don’t always want to talk. And I don’t always want to write, either. I don’t always have an opinion on something. I don’t always think. Sometimes, I really am thinking about “nothing.” Nothing wrong with that. It’s perfectly fine to think about nothing. Nothing‘s a great topic. Anybody can relate to it – it’s just a matter of shutting your brain off. You can accomplish that in a myriad of ways: sleep, meditation, drugs – not to mention, death. That shuts your brain off pretty well. Kills off the conscious and unconscious in one fell swoop.

But obviously, I get tired of “nothing.” It gets boring to talk about the same thing all the time. “Nothing” gets a little stale every once in a while. You have to switch it up at some point. And that’s where this blog comes in. When I have something to say, I’ll say it. If I’m riled up, I’m riled up. If I’m not, I’m not. Simple. If this “style” catches somebody’s eye, great. If it doesn’t, great. It catches my eye just fine. And that’s the whole point, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

