“Did you forget?”

smg
“No, I didn’t forget.” I tell her. “There isn’t a day that goes by without me thinking about it.”

“But you forgot.” She quipped.

“I didn’t forget, I’m telling you-”

“If you didn’t forget, then why is the laundry still piling up?” She pointed to some indiscriminate direction with a strained look on her face.

I wanted to look away from her face, but doing that is a sign of weakness.

“Don’t just stare at me, man.” She closed her eyes and smiled, rubbing her hand on her forehead. “What am I going to do with you…?” She asked, to nobody in particular.

“I-” There really isn’t anything I can do to defend myself in this situation. “I’m sorry.” The only option is defeat. Resignation.

“Don’t- ah, man. That trip really did a number on you, huh? Japan. Ah, Japan.” She sat down lazily, looking listlessly up off to the ceiling.

I looked at her wordlessly.

“You want to go back, right?” She asked, not looking away from the ceiling.

I nodded.

She must’ve already known. “Me too.” Like she was using me as sounding board. “Man, everything’s just… different. I can’t describe it. It’s nice. Surreal, in a way. What do you think? You, with your fancy little words.”

I searched my mind for something profound to say. “Yeah. Like a whole new world. You walk down the street, and the atmosphere feels different. You know they’re all still human, and these are all human creations, but there’s something about the culture; something about the environment that makes everything seem so alien. To our eyes, it’s like stepping into another dimension.” I trailed off.

“Mm.” She grunted, laying her hands on her stomach. “What were we on before?”

A chance. I started tiptoeing away, walking backwards.

But she just seems to know everything. “Don’t run.”

“What?” I feigned ignorance.

“Laun.”

“Laun?”

“-dry.”

I sighed. “Yeah, I’ll -”

“Now.”

“Alright.” I watched her. She was still, laying on the chair. I wondered about all the things she might’ve been thinking, and about all the memories that we’ve experienced together. I could write an entire book going off about her facial features. I could make a thousand-page encyclopedia of all the dinners we’ve had. But I decided not to overstay my welcome. Another day, I’ll tell her, I thought to myself, smiling at the familiar lump in my pocket. The mundane comes before the spectacular.

I’d like to have left it like that. I’d like to say that all things in life can be fixed with quotable one-liners and dramatic exits. But that’d hide the truth. That’d be cowardly.

I’m just kidding. It’s not gonna turn dark anytime soon – and that line isn’t a red flag, either. Everything’s fine. It’s fine to just have “regular” problems. It’s fine to not live in a Latin soap opera. There’s more to life than beating up bad guys and having delusions of grandeur. The only thoughts on my mind are of proposing. I can live like this for a long time. I hope she can too.

Leave a Reply

