Typing better than someone else

I’m a pretty fast typer. Around 90 wpm. 98 if I’m feeling particularly intimate with home row that day. I pride myself on being this fast, but I don’t brag about it. At least, I don’t try to. It’s nothing that spectacular. You see guys over 100 wpm all the time.

I could be over 100 wpm.

I could be a lot of things.

Here I go again, about “trying.” I could, but I’m not. I want to succeed, but I also don’t want to work.

I keep typing about this. I keep thinking about this. Am I doing enough? Is this acceptable? Of course I’m free to do whatever I want to do, but I know that I won’t really be able to make myself a dinner if I didn’t bother going to the grocery store.

There it is again. Those same metaphors about “preparation” and “planning.”

Nobody wants to hear that shit, though. Especially not me. I’ll tell you what I want to hear.

The clacking of my mechanical keyboard as I see my wpm go higher. I live for the rush of competition. I revel in victory, but I also revel in defeat. Defeat only means that you have to go faster.

You see, “typing faster” is a very straightforward goal. It’s not like “I want to be successful” or “I want to be attractive,” where the goal is as vague as the future is. Typing faster is pretty hard to get wrong. You want to type faster? Keep typing. Keep doing it. You’re doing so much of it anyways. What’s a little practice now and then? What’s a little http://www.typeracer.com now and then?

It’s nice to see your car go faster than the others. When it gives me the little “90 wpm” at the end, I get a warm feeling inside. Even if I lose, it’s still nice. I’m still pretty fast. I can go faster. I can aim higher. My ambitions don’t stop here. The legend continues.

And you don’t really get to think about it too hard, because your ears are just being blasted by the sounds of the keyboard. No fears. Just tapping. Just clacking. Just working, just moving, just progressing. Every character is a step forward.

It’s a lot easier when it’s just your fingers moving, isn’t it?

Not your brain.

Not my brain?

No, it’s just a repeated motion. It’s fun because it’s so easy. You can just keep going on and on, and the material isn’t going to ever run out – you’re always going to be able to find someone else’s writing. You’re always going to be able to get faster.

You’ll plateau, but you can just move your fingers a little faster next time.

Faster. Move your fingers faster. Simple. Just don’t stop. Stopping means you’re slowing down, and slowing down means that you’re not improving. Just move on to the next piece. Faster. Preciser. Ah. a weird word.

Faster. You now know that word. You know the pattern. You – ah. You messed up again.

No worries. Just fix it for next time. Keep up the rhythm. Spell rhythm correctly. Move your pinky finger. Don’t think about anything. You’ll slip up. Short. Expand. Flow. Faster.

It’s a very tangible improvement. The goal is very obvious. Since you’re forced to look at the screen, and you’re always forced to be thinking about the next character, you’ll never slow down.

You’ll never want to.

One comment

  1. Thank you for another fantastic post. Where else could anyone get that type of information in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

